Learning to be spontaneous

Teaching my type-A self to take a step back and go with the travel flow.

Now that I have been living abroad for about a month, I have learned quite a bit about myself and about traveling. After my weekend in Vienna with some new friends I realized the beauty of being spontaneous in a new city.

As a self-identified type A person, I love a good plan. Knowing where I’m going and what to expect is extremely important for me. But when a group of friends from USD said they were headed to Vienna for the weekend and asked if I wanted to join them, I jumped in knowing practically nothing about where I was going. (Except that Arnold Schwarzenegger is from Austria.)

The weekend consisted of many miles walked, approximately 40 by Courtney’s iPhone, and many more unplanned discoveries. This adventurous group of girls got up the first morning and equipped with a map headed to the streets of this foreign city. No plan, no agenda, just walking toward whatever looked cool.

dsc00378
Volksgarten, Vienna.

I decided to go along with it because A: I had no other option, and B: I did not want to be stranded alone. Much to my amazement we were able to cover the city quite well, and see beautiful sights.

When trying to find the parliament building we stumbled upon the circus that was in town for a few weeks, bringing back childhood memories of Ringling Bros. with my cousins. Then, behind the circus was a gorgeous building, the Rathaus, and wanted to look inside. But there was a Game City convention going on, so we managed to sneak in, telling the security guards that we just were visiting the building, and got to witness the juxtaposition of 19th century gothic architecture and teenagers trying out the new Nintendo games.

DSC00366.JPG
Circus Roncalli set up in front of the Rathaus building.

By that point I realized that not having a plan for the city allowed us to make fun memories that would not have otherwise been made. And it just kept getting better.

That night we were walking around near our hostel and heard strange orchestra sounds coming from a nearby park/courtyard between two museums. When we got closer we found that the Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna was celebrating it’s 125 anniversary with a giant exhibition projected on the building from dusk to midnight.

img_6734
“Infinite Screen” exhibition projected on the front of the Kunsthistorisches Museum.

We spent about an hour chatting and watching the multimedia show displaying “The Tower of Babel” by Pieter Brueghel the Elder, along with readings from famous literature and pieces of classical music in a cyclical “Infinite Screen”.

The weekend continued in this nature from stumbling upon delicious food at the Open Air Market, and gazing over the whole city from a hill behind the Schönbrunn Palace, to getting on the ferris wheel at Prater Park right during the most gorgeous sunset.

img_6678
Vienna open air market. On Saturdays there is an extensive flee market.
img_6707
View from the top of a ferris wheel in Prater Park.
img_6695
Vienna from the hill behind the Schönbrunn Palace.

 

Overall, my previous apprehensions about traveling have (mostly) disappeared. (I’m still uneasy about the actual travel after missing my bus home from Munich.) But without a little adventure, how will can I find the perfect park to take a midday snooze?

 

Leave a Reply

